Rain halts play at third round of the NZ Road Race Championships


Adverse weather conditions forced the cancellation of the Third Round of the SsangYong New Zealand Road Race Championships, at Teretonga Raceway, just outside Invercargill this afternoon.

It had been raining since the beginning of the meeting, which had made thing interesting for the riders. However heavy rain began falling at around three o'clock, cause flooding on several parts of the circuit.

After consultation, the Stewards of the meeting cancelled the remaining races.

Day one had seen Hamilton Andrew Stroud, dominate in both the 600 Sports Production and Superbike races on his Suzuki, however today it was others who shone.

Stroud won the second 600 Sports Production race but when the flag dropped for race three in the rain, series leader Craig (Suzuki) took the lead and never looked back. Finishing half the front straight in the lead, while the battle for the minor placings was between Aussie Chris Seaton (Suzuki) and Stroud, along with hard charging youngsters, Sam Smith (Waiuku) on a Yamaha and Hayden Fitzgerald (Pukekohe) on a Honda.

In the only Superbike race run today, Stroud took the lead from the start, but was chased down and passed by young Australian Scott Charlton on another Suzuki. Honda Jared Love (Hamilton) came home third, ahead of NZTT winner Ray Clee (Kumeu).

Local riders did well in the minor class, Mark Weller won the first Formula Three race on his Suzuki SV650 and nephew Ashley won the second 125 Grand Prix class race.

Fellow local John Beck had a mixed weekend, crashing out of race two of the 250 Grand Prix class and then picked up second in the third race, run in the rain.

Provisional Results from Round Three of
The SsangYong New Zealand Road Race Championship
Teretonga, 7/8 Jan. 2006.
Race One:
Andrew Stroud, Hamilton, Suzuki, 1; Shawn Giles, Australia, Suzuki, 2; Chris Haldane, Auckland, Suzuki, 3; Scott Charlton, Australia, Suzuki, 4; Jared Love, Hamilton, Honda, 5.

Race Two:
Charlton, 1 Stroud, 2; Love, 3; Ray Clee, Kumeu, Suzuki, 4; Giles, 5.

600 Sports Production
Race One
Andrew Stroud, Hamilton, Suzuki, 1; Craig Shirriffs, Palmerston North, Suzuki, 2; Derek McAdam, Wellington, Kawasaki, 3; Chris Seaton, Australia, Suzuki, 4; Chris Peris, Canada, Suzuki, 5.

Race Two
Stroud, 1; Shirriffs, 2; McAdam, 3; Seaton, 4; Hayden Fitzgerald, Pukekohe, Honda, 5.

Race Three:
Shirriffs, 1; Seaton, 2; Stroud, 3; Sam Smith, Waiuku, Yamaha, 4; David Johnston, Australia, 5.

Formula Three
Race One:

Terry Fitzgerald, New Plymouth, Suzuki, 1; Jason Easton, Foxton, Tigercraft, 2; Jason Nairn. New Plymouth, Suzuki, 3.

Race Two:
Mark Weller, Invercargill, Suzuki, 1; Fitzgerald, 2; Easton, 3.

Race Three:
Fitzgerald, 1; Andy Bolwell, Oamaru, Kawasaki, 2; Nairn, 3.

250cc Grand Prix:
Race One:
John Beck, Invercargill, Yamaha, 1; Karel Pavich, Nelson, Yamaha, 2; Lyndon Sanders, Alexandra, Honda, 3.

Race Two
Kevin Brooks, Whangamata, Honda, 1; Pavich, 2; Sanders, 3.

Race Three:
Pavich, 1; Beck, 2; Anthony McCarthy, Timaru, Honda, 3.

125cc Grand Prix:
Race One:
Cameron Horgan, Christchurch, Honda, 1; Adam Chambers, Clive, Honda, 2; Maarten Van-Booma, Taradale, Honda, 3.

Race Two:
Ashley Weller, Winton, Honda, 1; Van-Booma, 2; Andrew Evans, Christchurch, 3.

- Source from (Jan 08, 2006) -